Beginning the build…

220px-R2-D2_Droid(this picture is not my droid)

I’ve started construction of my R2D2 droid.  I will log the progress and details on the assembly process.  I’m going to start with the head and work the way down.  I’ll begin with the construction of the dome.  I’ve decided to use plastic for the dome for now.

Dome dimensions:

dome dimensions.png

Styrene Sheets:

American Plastics
2757 Farnam Street
http://americanplastics.us

48″ x 96″ sheets of white high impact polystyrene in .040″ thickness – $24.00 each

 

 

ABS styrene dome

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Acrylonitrile_butadiene_styrene

20160315_212257

 

Leave a Reply

